What is Wicca?

Merry Meet. As we talked about in the last post, this is a blog for the neophyte. So we will start at the beginning.

What is Wicca?

Wicca, also known as Witchcraft, has been practiced throughout history. Some practices of Wicca or Witchcraft have their roots as far back as the stone age. This is why it is also known as the Old Religion. It’s also known as “the Craft.”

Wiccans honor the cycles of the Earth and Sky. We honor the seasons and the cycles of life and death. We perform Sabbats to honor these cycles. The Sabbats express the life cycle in the seasons, and the turning of the year.

The term “turning of the year” comes from the way we look at a year. We see it as a cycle or a circle. Never beginning, never ending, it’s an ever-turning wheel. This is why we believe in reincarnation. It will be clearer when we look at the different Sabbats and the roles they play in the life cycle.

Wiccan Wheel of the Year

Wiccan Wheel of the Year

As I said before, the cycles of the year are marked by the Sabbats. We as Wiccans strive to attune ourselves to these cycles at the Sabbats:

  • Yule (Approximately Dec 22,  Winter Solstice)
  • Imbolc (Approximately Feb 1 or 2nd)
  • Ostara (Approximately March 22nd,  Spring Equinox)
  • Beltane (May 1st)
  • Litha (Approximately June 22nd Summer Solstice)
  • Lammas (August 1st)
  • Mabon (Approximately Sept. 22nd Fall Equinox)
  • Samain (Oct 31st)

Now knowing a little about what Wicca, we will discuss how to practice Wicca in my next post.

Blessed Be,

Moonwater Silverclaw

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.